Start of the Junior Race 2011
Race finish 2009

Ingleborough Mountain Race

Organised by Dave McGonnigal, the Ingleborough Mountain Race starts on the sports field next to Ingleborough Community centre (Grid Ref. 695730), passes through the main street of the village, turns left on to the Hawes road, after four hundred metres turn right off the road on to the public footpath up Ingleborough. The race then follows this path to the summit (grid ref. 742745) and returns to the village by the same route. The field is re-entered from the Back Gate car park.

As this route is along a public footpath any competitor may go around the course prior to the race.

All entries will be taken on the day of the race up to 2:30pm.

This race is approved by the Fell Runners Association and as such is organised using the guidelines provided by them. ALL RUNNERS NEED TO UNDERSTAND THE ‘REQUIREMENTS FOR RUNNERS

As the race is run as part of Ingleton's Gala day friends and family can enjoy the activities on the Gala Field while waiting for the runners to return.

2018 Race Report

The 2018 race was supported by 211 senior runners and 6 juniors. The Senior race was won by Josh Boyle of Ribble Valley Harriers in a time of 48 mins 38 secs. He was closely followed across the finish line by Harry Coates of Wharfedale Harriers and Robert Little from Dark Peak FR.

Matthew Holroyd of Settle Harriers won the Junior race in a time of 30 minutes with Evan Allen (Helm Hill) second and Isacc Robinson (Howgill Harriers) third.

2017 Race Report

The Senior race was won by Joe Baxter from the Pudsey & Bramley club in a time of 49.16. Josh Tighe from the Northumbertland Fell Runners came home in 2nd place (50.07) with Mark McGoldrick of Wharfedale Harriers 3rd (51.46).

Samuel Headley from the Keighley club won the Junior race in a time of 25.14 with Jonathan Archer from the Ilkley in 2nd place (25.24) and Matt Holroyd of Settle Harriers 3rd (28.39).

2016 Race Report

The Senior race was won by Nick Leigh from the Horwich club in a time of 48.53. Matthew Lockyer from the Pudsey & Bramley club came home in 2nd place (49.31) with Sam Watson of Wharfedale Harriers 3rd (51.20).

Calum Kitching from the Deaside Runners won the Junior race in a time of 26.14 with Matthew Holroyd from the Settle Harriers in 2nd place (29.32) and Toby Wimard, also from the Settle Harriers, 3rd (30.21).

The relevant Ordnance survey maps are :-

  • Wensleydale and Wharfdale, Sheet 98 1:50,000
  • Yorkshire Dales Western Area, Outdoor leisure map 2, 1:25,000
  • Ingleborough Hill, Sheet SD77 1:25,000 - note Ingleton is 1/2 mile off this map.

To contact the organiser email: